Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment.

To what extent do you agree?

There is an issue about the severity of penalty for immature offenders. Some prosecutors believe that court should assign them adult punishment. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some prosecutors state young offenders should be sentenced as grownups. The first reason is that it will deter young people from breaking a law. Most children will think carefully before committing crimes, such as pickpocketing and robbing, because court will sentence them as severely as adults. Another reason is that more victims will be content with the verdict. The people, who suffer the crime, will find justice, when the jury punish their offenders with no excuse for their age. Furthermore, it will spare much time and effort for the court. Court will no longer spend much time considering special cases involving children as criminals, since it will judge them as usually as adults criminals.

However, some social workers advocate that youngsters should not receive the punishments intended for adults. Firstly, juvenile delinquents will learn more heavy crimes in prison. The imprisonment of teenagers means that they will rub shoulders with serious criminals, so they will acquire more offensive skills and, subsequently, become more dangerous to society later. Secondly, it will ruin the future of children. Many juvenile offenders will be unable to finish their education and, consequently, get employment, so they will have to make a living by breaking a law again. Moreover, young offenders normally are unaware of justice system. Many children do not know when they commit a crime as well as what will happen to them, if they perpetrate an offence, so it is unfair to assign them the same penalty as adults.

In conclusion, although some prosecutors suggest using the same penalties against teenage criminals as against grownups, I think that soft punishment should be in use against them.