Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

In today’s competitive world there’s always an urge to compete and defeat. There’s a section of society that believes that competitive nature should be encouraged from a very young age while another argues that cooperation is a way to a successful life. I believe in the later and this essay will discuss both the views followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, children today are under extreme social pressure than ever before as mediocrity is no more acceptable. This cut-throat competition has resulted in new-age diseases like depression, diabetes which has affected the young generation. For instance, the presence of kids as small as 3 years old in reality shows has left kids more vulnerable to public glare and judgment.

Moreover, competition takes away the spirit of cooperation. Parents should encourage teamwork in kids, which would, in turn, help them to be social. While complacency should be abhorred but to find competition in every action is not recommended too. It has also been observed that children who are taught teamwork are more satisfied and in a healthy state of mind than others. In addition to this, working in groups helps an individual to learn from others and be more well-mannered.

To conclude, I would suggest that though parents should groom their kids to survive in this competitive world, they should also teach them the importance of teamwork.