Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think they should stay at home with the family. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Across the world, there are parents who wish to see their child as independent and hence encourage them to leave the home while others feel that family should always live together. I believe that the family should stay together, and this essay will discuss both the views.

To begin with, parents always want the best for their children. In this process, while some want to keep their offspring under their wings, the others want their child to leave the nest early and follow their own trajectory. Some progenitors wish their offspring to become independent and start from scratch; this, they think, makes the child more responsible and to values things he has earned in life. Meanwhile, parents who have always shared the burden of responsibilities get to enjoy the golden age with their own privacy. So, as the youngster faces the initial struggles, he becomes confident and develops his own understanding of the world, fulfilling the objective to be sent to live independently.

However, there are old people who want to stay connected and stay together with the family. Old age has its own demands, as parents become weak with time, they need the warmth of young hands. Moreover, staying alone brings a feeling of isolation and push an individual towards depression. To make matters worse, there have been many cases when old people living alone have been smothered or looted. Many old folks believe that having daily supper with the family, keeps the family closely knitted. For instance, in India, most of the families are joint families where the young and the old all stay together. This not only helps the children and grandchildren to live under the care and love of the parents and grandparents but also brings peace to the old who see their family growing.

To conclude, while staying away from parents helps an individual to make an independent living, growing old with parents brings peace and emotional support, and helps to develop family values. So, in India, we have three generations of a family living together, where youngsters get to learn family values and elders feel happy to be surrounded by young.