Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think they should stay at home with the family. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With dramatic changes in economic and social lifestyles, more and more parents tend to motivate their children to live alone as they grow up. While some people are of the view that the youngster had better live with their family. I will discuss both view before reaching a reasoned opinion on the issue.

On the one hand, there are many positive aspects that young people can benefit from being independent of their parents. By staying alone, teenagers have a chance to develop decision-making skills, as they need to be solely in charge of their actions. Besides, learning to do chore works like cleaning, washing, cooking is a practical way to improve time-management skills and boost their confidence.

On the flip side, there are many risks that youngster may have when being reliant on their own. Naive and inexperienced young people may have difficulties in dealing with unexpected situations that can adversely impact their life. When a youngster fall under depression, he may easily get addicted to alcohol or drugs. This situation is less likely to happen with anyone having close relationship with their parents. Due to research by University of California, social relationship, especially among family members, is the key solution that helps reduce anxiety and stress. Moreover, the burden on daily expenditures like accommodation, food is also released when being with family, as they are shared and financed by parents. Youngster can save a great amount of money to spend on other leisure activities to nurture their life.

To sum up, despite some skills that a young adults might develop when living on their own, the risks they are exposed to far outweighs its benefits.