Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about studying the science of food and the way of its preparation. While there are several important subjects which should be concentrated on, I still believe that it is a crucial subject in the curriculum.

There is a common belief that it is a waste of time to learn food science. In the modern era, there are many important subjects in students’ timetables such as technology, physics and foreign languages that not only help people develop creative thinking skills, but also provide more job opportunities. Hence, it would be a burden if people added unnecessary subjects such as the science of food. According to recent research, most students have been put a strain due to an overload of subjects.

In spite of the above argument, there is stronger evidence that food science is one of the important subjects in learners’ syllabus. Firstly, besides studying science and art subjects, it might be significant to learn the way of cooking skills. For developed countries, they are including cooking lessons in the syllabus to equip students with culinary skills; as a result, they are able to prepare nutritious home-made food with high hygiene standards. Secondly, it is likely to broaden their horizon about the knowledge of essential substances which build up their own diets. If they had any insight into gradients, it might be much more straightforward to comprehend their effect and avoid various ailments such as obesity, heart attack and diabetes.

To sum up, although it is often thought that food science could bring some drawbacks such as its overload, it would be better that food science brings not only appropriate diets but also a grasp of vital substances. Therefore, the schools should take into consideration about add this subject.