Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discus both sides and give your opinion.

The idea that history offers no lessons for the present and future is a contested topic. While some believe that the understanding the historical events have no bearings on the present, others believe that history offers cautionary lessons.

In the past century human civilisation has evolved more than the five hundred years before that. The kind of life we live and the circumstances that we face on a daily basis are vastly different than those faced in medieval times or era. People earlier were mostly always fighting for survival, whereas now, for most part of the world basic survival has been taken care of. We are in a globally connected world now, everything happens at the tip of our fingers and we are not dominated or ruled by people wielding axes or swords.

On the other hand, if there is one thing that we have learnt from history, it’s that we do not learn from our history. Or in other words, as it’s proven time and time again, history repeats itself. Although the world might be drastically different from what it was three hundred years ago, human nature is still the same. If we study the rise and fall of great civilisations all over the world irrespective of the era they existed, we will find common themes which have caused their rise and downfall. So, if we as a modern society want to ensure our longevity, we drastically need to revisit our history books and absorb all the important learnings that it has to offer which might save our future.

In my opinion history teaches us invaluable lessons and we definitely need to pay heed to them to ensure we don’t repeat the same mistakes that our ancestors committed. We are responsible for the next generations to come, and we do not want a situation to arise where the people of the future end up blaming us for not listening to the echos of the past.