Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that actions of individuals are wasteful and irrelevant and it is only government and large businesses that can make a difference. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Global climate change is a consequence of global warming or we can say continuous increasing temperature of earth. The main cause behind this change is industrialization and changing life style of people. Some people say that individual efforts can contribute to combat climate change, while others reckon that individual efforts cannot bring any change and only government and large businesses can rein in this predicament. According to me, concerted efforts from individuals, corporations and governments are must to deal with this issue.

To begin with, individual’s efforts like to use cycle for short distances, usage of public transport, to use less packaged products and to do car-pooling can really bring a change in the exacerbating condition of environment. Main cause behind climate change is emission of greenhouse gases like carbon dioxide which trap the heat and increase the temperature of planet. Hence, if people curtail the use of private vehicles, which cause air pollution, by using public transport or by car-pool with their colleagues, then it can really add to ameliorate the situation.

On the contrary, other people say that individual efforts can not diminish the air pollution as massive amount of air pollution is caused by large firms which use fossil fuel to produce electricity and do not really use recycled products. Therefore, these organizations need to utilize electricity assiduously and try to switch to renewable energy sources like solar energy and wind energy. Government should enact stringent laws to control fossil fuel usage by organizations. Additionally, authorities should improve the public transport so that people can avoid using personal vehicles.

To conclude, I believe that we all should put collaborate efforts to lessen the concern of global warming. Be it curtailing of private vehicles usage by individuals, switching from fossil fuel to renewable energy sources by big organizations or aforementioned steps by authorities, all are required to get rid of this unfavorable environmental problem.