According to some people, when we visit a foreign country we should accept /embrace its customs and practices. In my opinion, it is all right to adapt to another culture; however, it should not be at the expense of our own culture. / In my opinion, one should only accept those elements of the foreign culture which one finds acceptable /comfortable with.

While visiting foreign countries or living abroad, one should try to embrace the foreign style of dressing, food habits and other practices only if one finds them pleasant to follow. There is no point in doing something just to fit in. However, before visiting a foreign country it is important to acquire a thorough understanding of their symbols, gestures and heritage to avoid causing offence.

The acceptance of another culture and lifestyle symbolizes respect for the new community and promotes healthy human relations. For instance, candidates running for American President often talk about their admiration for Indian culture to win the vote of Indian Diaspora living in America. That is because as human beings we automatically develop a liking for those who respect our culture and values. Hence, regard for another culture goes a long way in forming long-lasting connections between people of different race and ethnicity.

Although an individual should be appreciative of the practice of the country he visits, they should not be compelled to give up their own customs. Every region has their own religious beliefs and way of living and people should have the freedom to choose the best lifestyle for themselves. This also ensures harmony among the various ethnicities living together. For instance, India is a country of many religious groups preaching their own teachings and language. In such a country, the peaceful environment is maintained by giving everyone the right to select their way of life.

In conclusion, it is a good way of showing acceptance and affection towards others by following their rituals and ideology but it needs to be an option, not an obligation for visitors to comply with. Affection and harmony can only prosper when everyone shows respect for each other’s traditions voluntarily by choice.