Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs.

To what extent do you agree?

With the increase in the globalisation, more people are travelling from one place to another. Section of society, argue that visitors should comply with the cultural values and tradition of the host country. However, there are others who opine native countries should welcome the tourist with their values. This essay, stress on the combination of both for better understanding between two nations.

The first group of people believes that visitors travel to understand the cultural differences and enjoy traditions of different places. Therefore, if visitor shows respect towards the host society, local people will accept and welcome them more enthusiastically. Thus, they will feel more comfortable to interact with local inhabitants and avoid conflicts during their trip. Further, this would ease in communication and understand the host nation more effectively, which may fulfil the purpose of their visit.

On the other hand, people who think that people should respect tourist’s culture believe introducing new culture would be better for the society. These days, tourism is big business and support economy to a great extent. Therefore, people and the government should be flexible and admit other cultures if they want to succeed in the tourism industry. Actually, a lot of countries are competing with each other to attract more visitors and making their nations the desired destination and without respecting different cultures, they may be lost in this maddening race.

After analysing both the viewpoints, it could be concluded that it is essential for both the local-hides and visitors to adapt to each other values and customs for the success of this new trend of travelling more often.