Travelling has become a global phenomenon. In the age of swift air travel, super fast trains and comfortable luxury buses, travelling has become immensely easier than ever before. Some people think that tourists should adapt to the local practices and traditions of the place they are travelling to. I strongly agree with this notion.

Tourists should always research before travelling to a place which has a culture different than what they are used to. Some countries are very strict about their culture and any indifference might cause you serious trouble. Travellers need to to be informed about the local practices and customs so that they don't do anything which might hurt the sentiments of the local people. For example, women in some Middle East countries are not allowed outside their homes without a burkha. Needless to say, female tourists can be fined or even sent to prison if they are unaware of this or try to deviate from this practice.

Similarly, a type of hand gesture in India which simply translates to, "are you hungry", has a vulgar meaning in France. To avoid such bad experiences we need to adapt to local practices of dos and don't. While most countries don't have a hard and fast rule about their customs and always welcome tourists with open arms, it is always better to adjust to local practices and customs. It gives you an insight into their traditions and creates beautiful and memorable experiences. Adapting new customs not only reciprocates your warmness and respect towards the local people but it also makes you a better fellow human.

To conclude, there might be some people who do not want to follow or adapt to a culture they are travelling and vice-versa. But accepting a new culture always imparts exciting new experiences and helps you to connect with the local people. Besides, it also helps you avoid any disrespect or misunderstanding.