Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

In most of the countries, people take a driving test before they are awarded the driving license, ones in a lifetime and need not required to be updated after a certain period of time. However, the section of society, suggest it should be mandated for drivers’ to reappear for driving test periodically. This essay will discuss merits and demerits of said exercise before coming to conclusion.

To begin with, let’s try to understand the reason for enforcing such law. These days’ numbers of road accidents are rapidly increasing, causing small injuries to death even in some cases. Therefore, it is supposed to be considered as a way to stop such incident, however, it’s not true, as the majority of accidents are the result of careless driving, drinking and driving, and competing with others on road. Thus, checking driver’s ability to drive would not solve the problem, rather putting strict punishment and penalty for violation of rules could help a little. Moreover, reappearing in test every 5 years would kill peoples’ money, time and energy. Also, put a burden on governments’ pocket, as they have to make necessary arrangements like workforce, paperwork and data management, which can be utilised in a better way.

On the positive note, it would help to keep a check on the general public. For instance, it’s very common to get a fake license in some places which cost more than the original one. However, it would be difficult for a person to afford this type of illegal document every time. So, it could result in eradicating such fake drivers who are not capable of driving safe and posse’s threat for many lives, moving on the road.

To conclude, it can be analysed that its drawbacks overweigh the benefit it offers. In my opinion, authorities should keep a check on road safety and keep people aware of updated traffic rules, and impose strict law on defaulters.