A segment of society opines that drivers must pass a driving check every half of a decade. Personally, this does not only bring some advantages but also beget some undeniable concerns.

Testing people’s driving skills once every five years greatly reduces traffic violations. If drivers’ theoretical knowledge about legislation such as the maximum speed or the appropriate lane to drive are ensured, over speeding or using a motorcycle in bus- only streets will probably occur less. Besides, the longer drivers do not retrain their abilities at controlling vehicles, the less likely traffic collisions will happen. When drivers have a good grasp of how to use brakes appropriately in extreme weather patterns or changing directions when seeing a drunk driver heading to them, they may escape from those unwanted deadly situations. A survey carried out in 2010 pointed out that regular basic vehicle control checks encourage people to practice holding the wheels, therefore preventing skill decay and lowering fatalities.

Along with the aforementioned positive impact, doing driving tests every five years may beget gridlocks. People, especially the ones in the 16- 19 age bracket normally retake their driving licenses only during summer vacation, from July to September, inasmuch as the busy tertiary and high school schedules. In those peak times, a surge of transportation running in the streets for testing purposes will probably result in congested traffic flow. Traffic jams have been happening continuously in Vietnam, especially during summer days, since driving licenses were made valid for only 4 years instead of being permanently usable.

To conclude, forcing people to do driving examinations twice every decade may greatly reduce dangerous collisions and minor traffic errors, which ensures the public’s safety. In addition, it also causes mass traffic congestion that the government has to take notice of.