Regarding the recent population explosion worldwide, a segment of society opines that producing genetically modified food should be given more attention. This essay will further discuss both its existential benefits and drawbacks with appropriate examples.

GM technology is potentially a paradigm shift for farmers as it may help ensure the world’s food security. With limited cultivable land and the challenge of feeding over 7.5 billion people around the world, biotechnology should be part of the solution as we have to focus on intensifying rather than expanding farming. To exemplify, some engineered crops produced greater yields compared to their non-GM counterparts, while others are nutritionally enhanced. Taking oilseeds that have been modified to produce omega 3 fatty acids as a prominent example. Supposing this had not been introduced to indigenous farmers settling in mountainous regions in Vietnam a decade ago, they would not have stopped suffering from mass malnutrition due to lack of fish oil in their daily diets.

Having said that, some adverse effects of producing and consuming bioengineered food on mankind have been proposed by those who are against this kind of food. To be more specific, genetically engineered foods are created by inserting foreign genes into an organism, which may result in allergic reaction. This happens when a certain protein or allergen present in GM crops enters the body and stimulates an immune system. Besides, the collapse of some species, especially insectivores that we rely upon, is thought to be attributable to engineered crops. Providing BT eggplants had not been introduced to Vietnamese farmers in 2010, causing the plummet in the numbers of local insects, those people would not suffer from lack of protein in their diets now. Their source of protein was mainly from eating birds such as sparrows, which had not been able to thrive until the introduction of BT crops which killed thousands of insects that they fed on.

To conclude, biotechnology should go through some thorough research in order to help meet the growing demand for food. This is because alongside some noticeable merits like nutrition enhancement or better yields, there are also some side effects when those are eaten by people as well as food chain disruption.