These days, a segment of society opines that in order to eradicate concerns with traffic, residents should be motivated to relocate to urban areas rather than commuter belts or rural regions. Personally, I am totally against this idea in light of some compelling reasons offered below.

Encouraging rural inhabitants to move to cities may exacerbate the transportation concerns. Narrow routes, increasing population and low-conditioned mass transit systems, all of which may contribute to the escalating rate of gridlocks. Perhaps, Cau Giay district- an area which has been long appealing to students and employees from other regions, together with its mass congestion, is a prominent example. Also, humans coming from outskirt and non- urban regions would not have a good grasp of the cities’ traffic conditions and legislation- which are different from that in their hometowns. This lack of understanding would cause some unwanted traffic violations such as jumping yellow lights or driving at inappropriate speed.

Optimizing traffic-light management is a pragmatic alternative which may alleviate the current traffic problems. To be more specific, data collected from CCTV footage is processed using algorithms and AI, then the timing of traffic lights will be varied to match demand in real life, thus maximizing road capacity. Also, it can help prioritize public vehicles like buses by synchronizing light phases to their movement. As a result, more people will choose public transportation- which greatly helps reduce traffic jams inasmuch as their capacity to house many passengers at once.

To sum up, in order to ameliorate traffic concerns, it is not a sensible measurement to encourage rural residents to move into cities. Improving traffic-light systems could, on the other hand, deliver a complete solution.