These days, going to far-flung corners of the world, both for tourism and scientific purposes, is no longer an impossible task for human beings. Personally, the disadvantages of this pale into insignificance compared to its merits, as now can be explained.

Travelling activities and researching may be potential threats to the environment and natural habitats, regarding some of their aspects. Perhaps ozone layer depletion in the South Pole- the precursor to an escalating rate of global warming, is a prominent example. Supposing laboratories and accommodations for shock tourism had not been established there, large amounts of emission, mainly consisting of methane and CO2, would not have entered the stratosphere and depleted ozone layers. Also, quantities of seals, penguins and other Antarctic faunas had seen steady rises until the appearance of tourists with recreational hunting as well animal capturing for scientific researches on their homeland several decades ago, which prove our detrimental impacts on the ecosystems of where we travel to

Having said that, with the recent paradigm shift from conventional to responsible tourism, not only its drawbacks mentioned above were curbed, but also some advantages can be observed. More and more travel lovers are environmentally conscious, which can be explained by the increasing popularity of responsible tourism. By understanding that unspoilt areas would attract influx of tourists, local governments would rather conserve those areas instead of overexploiting for short-term economic benefits.

Besides, by having accessed to pristine areas like North and South poles, some animals can be brought back from extinction. Under ice layers is a reservoir of genes from frozen ancient animal matters as well as animalcules. With resurrection biology such as cloning technique, some of them were able to be revived using cutting-edge instruments, for example, Tardigrade by Japanese scientists.

To conclude, despite some notable drawbacks, the appearance of tourists and scientists in remote areas do have significant benefits to the environment, which can be seen in the case of sustainable tourism and de-extinction technology.