In contemporary society, escalating traffic congestion is an alarming concern. This may be caused by several factors as now can be mentioned together with some possible remedies offered below.

The mass automobile ownership and inconvenience of the mass transit system are two major causes of increasing traffic jams. Car has no longer been a luxurious item, which now can be purchased by people from all strata. Their size and popularity, plus the current routes which are too narrow to house a large number of them, all of which beget gridlocks. Besides, public transportations such as tram or buses have been seeing sustained reduction in patronage. This can be explained by the fact that bus operators try to make their commercially viable services viable by designing circuitous routes that pass close to as many houses as possible. This can prolong a trip, which is particularly unattractive to commuters.

Congestion-reduction measures like optimizing the bus system and using algorithms are applicable and suitable. The latter seems to be new and futuristic, but it is simply collecting data from CCTV footage, then using AI to predict potential gridlocks, traffic violations or anything that can result in congestion. Subsequently, policemen can vary the timing of traffic lights to match demand in real time, thus maximising road capacity. Besides, the authorities can apply a new model for the bus system- ring-and-spoke. This has been applied in many developed cities like Oldenburg and greatly improved the traffic flow, reduced travelling time.

To conclude, a surge in the number of cars and inefficiency of the bus network are the main reasons for rising congestion. But there are several things which can be implemented to ameliorate this.