Obesity- related diseases are becoming more and more popular among society, which may put the patient’s health at risk. An underlying reason can now be outlined together with a pragmatic remedy offered below.

The popularity of unhealthy food and drinks may mainly contribute to this alarming issue. It has been proven that the escalating rate of obesity- the precursor to several underlying diseases like diabetes or hypertension, mainly in developed countries, is directly proportional to the mass expansion of fast-food outlets. Perhaps the accessibility and cheap prices of fried chicken, hamburger and sugar- contained beverages like Coca has been making themself attractive to most age brackets since their introduction to the market. As a result, excessive amounts of saturated fat and other nutrition may be absorbed, which then will be converted into energy through digestion. Only a certain fraction of them is absorbed while the remaining will be turned into fat.

Bariatric surgeries- which has recently gained trust, may help avert the obesity crisis by suppressing people’s appetites. Supposing parts of the stomach are removed by undergoing a laparoscopic gastric procedure, the patient’s stomach will not be able to hold much food and they will be more likely to feel full sooner. A same outcome can be seen in gastric bypass- another type of weight- loss surgery, performed by joining the top part of the stomach with the small intestine. Restricting the food intake by undergoing operations like these has been advocated by many scientists considering their ever-lasting effects as well as the availability of the surgical instruments needed.

To conclude, the fast food’s ubiquity is mainly responsible for the surge of obese patients. Encouraging people to undergo bariatric procedures may be the best solution to alleviate this issue.