The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing.

What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society?

How can this problem be solved?

It is no doubt true that there are an increasing number of people who are overweight in today's society. Consequently, these people are facing a multitude of critical health issues. Whilst there are a number of possible reasons why this is the case, appropriate measures could be taken to tackle this pressing matter.

There are a wide range of plausible explanations as to why a growing number of people is becoming overweight. First, in light of the fast pace of life, many people are prone to consume fast food for main meals instead of having home-cooked food. These fast foods are high in calories and fat which are likely to provide people with a large amount of redundant energy. Second, whilst life has increasingly become more hectic, a large number of people tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle rather than an active lifestyle. As a result, they hardly go to the gym or do exercises. On the grounds that these people are having tight schedules and heavy workloads, they are more likely to place a heavy emphasis on their daily work life rather than laying emphasis on keeping fit or staying healthy. Third, a multitude of people are working under a large amount of pressure and stress, therefore, they are prone to stress-related illnesses. Consequently, they are likely to consume a wealth of food and as a result, they easily gain weight.

On the other hand, some effective actions might be carried out to alleviate the serious health issues resulted from the overweight. For instance, the government might encourage people to pay more attention to their physical and mental health by airing television programs involving health problems. These programs are likely to raise people's awareness about health issues. In addition, the government could also invest in and build more parks and sports centers serving citizens. Accordingly, whilst people find it more convenient to travel to these facilities, they would go to these places more frequently to do exercises. Furthermore, at the individual level, people are advised to spend more time and effort to do exercises and play sports. They should be aware that the time that they spend on exercise and sports activities is never wasteful and is absolutely well served on the grounds that health is extremely essential to the quality of life.

In conclusion, whilst there are convincing explanations as to why a growing number of people are gaining weight, some necessary measures could be adopted to deal with this burning issue and other health-related problems.