Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people.

Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

The Internet has brought substantial changes to today society, for example, there is an increasing number of people reading news on the internet. While there remains some disagreement as to whether the internet or newspaper would be a more popular means for people to get news, I personally believe that the internet is of paramount importance in helping people access new information in faraway places and the readership of newspaper is gradually in decline.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that the internet revolutionalised our way to receive news. In earlier times, people purchased a newspaper in the morning and read all the news of a day. In contrast, now every news is updated constantly on the internet and this facilitates the flow of information. As such, people could get a vast amount of information using the internet. In addition, people are able to choose distinct sources of information from different websites which they believe to be more reliable and trustworthy.

Equally importantly, the internet enables readers to exchange information with other people. They not only place emphasis on reading news but also shift the focus onto further discussions on the forums and social networks. These arguments again promote the search for new information. Consequently, while the internet places the world at our fingertips, it takes a step further by helping people digging deeper into a wealth of underlying knowledge. Admittedly, these further conversations would potentially cost more time, I would contend that the internet encourages people to acquire more knowledge and analytical skills.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the internet would become the primary channel of accessing news for the reason that people could catch up on news more speedily and it permits people to gain a deeper knowledge of the focal matter.