Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are widely differing views on the issue of whether tobacco should be prohibited in public spaces or not. Some people would suggest that prohibiting cigarettes would be a violation to their rights and civil liberties; however, I would intend to argue that smoking should indeed be made illegal in public spots. The reasons for my position are as follows.

First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that smoking leads to lung cancer and other potentially fatal diseases. Pro-smokers would no doubt argue that individuals have the right to determine what substance goes into their own bodies; however, I contend that the interests and rights of society at large must override those of any individual. Indeed, the medical treatment of smoking-related ailments is regarded as incredibly costly, and it is frequently governments and society that cover these prohibitive costs rather than individual smokers. Thus, it is my belief that laws prohibiting smoking would be entirely justified.

Further and even more importantly, though, it is an indisputable fact that second-hand smoke gives rise to a multitude of ailments consisting of lung cancer, heart disease, stroke, and other types of cancer. Second-hand smoking is regarded as even more dangerous to children. Children exposed to passive smoke are more likely to suffer from respiratory infections, asthma, and cot death. Harmful tobacco smoke is invisible but can travel through the air and linger for a long time. It might also build up on surfaces and clothes. Passive smoke, thus, is extremely detrimental to both children and adults in public spaces. Hence, greater regulation of smoking in public venues is required.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my perspective that smoking in public areas should be considered as an illicit activity and should be prohibited. Whilst a widespread prohibition of smoking is unlikely in the foreseeable future, I believe that this ultimate goal would be warranted.