Some people view teenage conflicts with their parents as a necessary part of growing up whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is undoubtable that adolescence is the most difficult period for both children and parents. While some people believe that conflicts between teenagers and their parents are detrimental and should be averted, I would argue that parent-adolescent conflict is an indispensable part of teenagers’ growth. This essay will deliberate both views and my reasons for saying so are presented below.

One the one hand, there is a common belief that parent-child conflict should be avoided because it can damage the precious relationship. The dispute between children and their parents can result in tension in the family. For instance, it is not unusual to see that many teenagers like playing video games but the quarrel with parents can lead to difficulties in communication which create a separation in parent-child relationship.

On the other hand, I would argue that this conflict is essential for teenagers’ development. First, these conflicts can help children to mature. It shows that adolescents have their own opinion about things happening around them. One example is that when children study in secondary school, they can basically aware of what they like to do in their leisure time such as playing games, reading books,… but parents want them to learn so they strongly disagree with that. If this child does not voice their opinion, it would be against their principles. Second, after a conflict with parents, teenagers can really learn a lesson which will help them more mature. For example, a child has conflict with his mom about his result at school and after the conflict a few days, the child may learn a lesson that his mom just want to help him to study better.

In conclusion, although there are valid reasons why conflict between adolescents and parents should be dodged, it is still more reasonable to conclude that parent-child dispute plays an vital role in teenagers’ growth.