In recent years, many small-sized enterprises cannot complete with their supermarket rivals- which have been increased significantly in both terms of market share and scale. A segment of society opines that this phenomenon is more likely to lead to the erosion of local communities. Personally, I advocate this view considering some compelling reasons offered below.

The expansion of supermarkets and the loss of small shops may drain localities’ economic and social capital. Money spent on independent retail outlets tends to stay in the community, providing work for residents such as builders, farmers or local accountants. A research found that 100 dollars spent on a local store generates 60% more local activities than $100 spent on a chain store. Also, supermarkets provide local inhabitants with a plethora of occupations with low wages, replacing the working chances that they used to have with much better incomes. To be more specific, if somebody wants to own their own coffee shop, they will look forward to 30.000 pounds annually. If that same person works for a café in a supermarket then they will earn only about 15000 pounds with the rest of what they should be earning going to the chairmen and directors of the supermarkets.

The decimation of small enterprises together with large quantity of department stores has a negative impact on communities’ relationships. Communities are created by myriad small daily encounters such as exchanging information in pub or talking to baker while waiting for bread. By contrast, supermarkets minimize human contact in the interests of efficiency and convenience, most recently by introducing self-service lanes for payment. People go in then leave, so there might be little sense of community. They demonstrated, I believe, supermarkets really cut the threads that hold an engaged community together.

To conclude, the widespread presence of supermarkets and closure of retail outlets are responsible for the decreasing vitality and viability of small centers. This may be responsible for the vanishing community spirit that once thrived.