With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM ( genetically modified) foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

For the past few years, there has been an upsurge in the prevalence of genetically modified food. In spite of receiving myriad of accolades and being widely used over many countries, this kind of food has been proven to exert a negative impact on people’s health.

To commence with, it is highly likely that food produced by genetically modification will have desirable traits which can not easily be found in food made by conventional teaching method. Plants certainly boost their resistance to diseases and other harmful bacteria spread by insects and viruses as they grow. In all probability, this will induce higher yields for farmer and attractive products, contribute to bring a sustainable flow of revenue for individuals. Besides, thanks to this incredible invention, the nutritional content of food can be significantly enhanced. The nutritional value and flavor of GMO can be altered, supplying a denser nutritional profile to than what the previous generation was able to enjoy. Last but not least, it is not necessary for people to pay a large amount of money to consume this type of food. The reasonable price makes it accessible for all different social classes.

Despite the above-mentioned benefits, there exist some shortcomings. It is apparent that people have to ponder carefully before choosing these products as it entail plethora of potential fatal diseases. There is concern that genetically modified food, which have been designed to boost a crop resistance to diseases have high chances of diminishing people’s capacity to defend against illnesses. This will decrease the efficaciousness of any antibiotic or other remedy, causing great difficulties for medical researches. Furthermore, a number of scientists believe that eating GMO food can contribute to the development of cancer. New genes which are inappropriate to human can be easily introduced into the body by means of GMO food, resulting in a higher risk of many fatal diseases.

To recapitulate, genetically modified food has both positive and negative influence on people. Individuals and also the government should address the magnitude of this issue and its underlying causes to make the most sensible decisions.