Doing volunteer work is a waste of time and shouldn’t be encouraged among students. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Nowadays, volunteer work has been considered as an integral part of many students’ life, whereas, it is sometimes claimed that students should not squander their time on doing these activities which may have negative effect on their academic results. Nonetheless, I totally believe that volunteer work ought to be encouraged in students due to its potential benefits.

To commence with, there is no denying that pupils will be able to reap a plethora of merits from doing volunteer work. Initially, it is certainly true volunteer work is an indispensable extracurricular activity in school with the aim of helping foster independence and imparting the ability to deal with different situations. In addition, students will be able to get into touch with the real world, and be equipped with many momentous soft skills for the future such as communications, teamwork, or creativity.

Furthermore, it is apparent that doing volunteer work is an efficacious way to make a contribution to the society. In spite of the young age, volunteer work makes it possible for students to fulfill their obligations to make a difference and change the environment around in a proactive way. This plays a crucial role in the cognitive development of students, which can help diminish the enormous number of criminals and social evils each year. Therefore, not only does it make students instill their consciousness of the community but it also exerts a positive impact on the development of the society.

In summary, I strongly believe that engaging in unpaid work needs to be stimulated in students owing to its benefits to both individuals and society as a whole.