The increasing number of people taking flights is mainly attributable to the continuous growth in tourism. The environment is being eroded as a result, as now can be outlined with some appropriate examples, together with some pragmatic solutions.

As more and more people choose to travel by air, global warming is exacerbated. It has been calculated that aviation made up more than 2% of the total Co2 emissions on Earth. To exemplify, water vapor trails from aircraft at high altitudes- which create an often-invisible thermal blanket of cloud in the troposphere, contribute significantly to global warming as they trap the heat radiating from the earth’s surface, causing warming in the air below. Also, most contemporary airplanes are running on dirty fuel like jet gasoline- which is converted to Co2 when burned, do not only result in a steady rise in the global temperature by trapping heat, but also indirectly contribute to ozone depletion. To be more specific, Co3 has the capacity to cool air in the stratospheric layer.

Imposing more taxes, especially on frequent fliers, may curb the escalating global warming crisis caused by aviation. One feasible method is to introduce Frequent Flier Levy- a progressive tax that increases as a person takes more trips or travels longer distances by air. It is designed so as not to penalize families that take the one annual holiday but instead, concentrate on a small fraction of the global population that take regular flights. Besides, a paradigm shift to environmentally friendly airplanes is worth considering. If more electricity, biofuels or other sustainable energy is consumed in the aviation industry, less fumes will be emitted, compared to their gasoline counterpart. As a result, the atmospheric warming impacts by jets may be less severe.

To conclude, air travel has tremendous impacts on the global temperature, both in terms of co2 and non-co2. Levied people who take more flights than others mandating the use of sustainable fuels may effectively ameliorate the problems.