In recent years, prioritizing the selection criteria for the recruitment process has been gaining a great deal of attention among the corporate world. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the HR personnel and other recruitment agencies regarding the importance of innovativeness as well as proactive attitudes in the job environment. While some critics consider choosing the stereotypical under-command for their team, I would contend that for dynamism and future growth, idea-generating brain with self-initiative approach should be prioritized.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that innovation brings a better future for any company, therefore, for a sustainable upward trajectory, brainstormer should be hired. This will, in turn, help the company to build new ideas with more revenue generating structures. Moreover, the candidates who are creative-minded, also possess an innate ability to develop leading capacity. This happens because everyone surrounding him including his reporting authority will start depending on his skills once identified as a fruitful one. In an empirical survey conducted in London by the Ministry of Labor and Industry ascertained that 87% of the candidate who was chosen at different positions based on their higher IQ and creativity, brought a drastic change in company’s profitability. Most surprisingly, they had a better career growth in the same organization with a high level of leading designations.

Conversely, some critics admittedly suggest that candidates must be of team performer and follower in nature. Hence, the chemistry between the teammates becomes stronger and the interpersonal relationship goes beyond imagination. This results in a good working environment and fosters a healthy atmosphere for both the employee and the employer. Moreover, the subordinates who follow the instructions of superiors, ensures a better-organized working environment with minor chance of error in the workflow. The sales team of Johnson and Johnson can be the best illustration for this type of well-organized and fine-tuned as well as the result-oriented environment. It is not surprising to see that everyone follow a strong chain of command and ensures the best outcomes for their team, which was featured in Forbes magazine last year.

To recapitulate, the best selection depends on the actual need of the employer. To me, the innovativeness brings more positive attributes to the organizations rather than an old-fashioned boss-subordinate relationship, where meeting profitability matters mostly.