Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think it is better to work for different organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many do not want to change their job and are inclined to spend their entire working age at the same company. Others, however, believe that working for different companies is better for rapid career progression. I do also believe that switching job for better opportunity is a good idea.

First of all, those who are not in favour of job switch, believe that working in a same organisation is better. Because, it helps us to be accustomed with the corporate culture of that specific organisation. By stating this, they mean that employee find it difficult to cope up with new corporate cultures when they frequently change their companies as different organisation have different corporate environment. Beside these, working in a same organisation for lifetime could help an employee to hone and ameliorate his specific expertise which is essential for career progression. However, the reality is quite different. For example, before 10 years ago some of my friends joined in a same company in similar positions. All of them switched their jobs several times except one who decided to remain in the same company. As of today, those of my friends who switched their job have reached to managerial levels with attractive financial packages, while the last one is still holding the same position without any significant salary enhancement. So, staying at the same company for lifetime is not a good idea for career development.

On the other hand, the other group who believe it is better to switch a job for higher position with attractive financial packages, claim that switching company offers an employee to develop new sets of skills and enhance the adaptation powers. On contrary, working in the same organisation for lifelong prevents and employee to learn new things which is actually a digression. Beside these, it is against progressiveness and bound to be monotonous after a certain period of time. In addition of these, the salary and position progression could be slow down for them who stay in the same company. On top of it, they might be so used to with the particular culture that it could make them reluctant to accept new things and ideas.

In conclusion, even though, working for a certain organisation for lifetime has some benefits like specific skill development, but for Rapid career growth it is better to grab the new opportunities.