Some say that the government should stop supporting the professional sports activities and the cultural performances, and instead begin supporting schools to encourage children to take up sports and arts. What is your opinion?

The main duty of the government is to improve citizen’s living standard. But some people claim that the government should pump money in schools to improve student’s sports and artistic level rather than professional sports events and cultural performances. In my opinion, this is an inadvisable suggestion.

Government cannot stop fund the professional sports meeting because it can inspire the enthusiastic of the people, which can make more people participate in the sports. Besides this, professional sports and cultural events also have some beneficial effects on the host country. For example, The Olympic Game is the most important government-funded sports meeting in the world. 2008 Beijing Olympics is not only enhanced international friendship but also improved China’s reputation in the world. On this time, cultural performances are an essential component of cultural legacy. Enjoying those shows can help people develop a taste of art and improve their aesthetic judgment.

However, the government lay emphasis on schools such as professional teachers and excellent athletic facilities has made it easy for students to study these subjects. Professional teachers could give more high level suggestions and guidance to students, furthermore, good sports facilities such as swimming pool, playground and theatre have provided students with opportunities to practice their abilities. Moreover, supporting schools’ sports and arts is also supporting to the professional sports and arts events.

In conclusion, governments should not stop supporting professional sports events and cultural performances. But supporting these events and schools are not mutually exclusive.