It is well agreed that sports and arts provide many benefits to human society, but whether governments should invest in professional or amateur level remain a controversy. While many people believe that government's patronage no longer should invest in professional sports but amateur level, I tend to support the idea that professional sporting activities generate many benefits for society and require sufficient investment as well.

On the one hand, the amateur level is essential due to several benefits that it would offer. The first one is that schools provide the foundation for young talents to grow. Without the assistance at the amateur level, it is impossible for young athletes to progress and proliferate into their professional careers. Additionally, with the enhancement of sports and arts facilities from the provided state fund, more related events would be held to raise the awareness of a healthy lifestyle. Many students would thus benefit from this renovation and engage themselves more in sports activities. This may reduce the obesity rate in young people, which is prevalent in many developed countries.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why governments should perpetuate their fund to support professional sporting events. Firstly, they are a multi-billion-dollar business which generates thousands of jobs ranging from management level to service level. This helps to reduce unemployment rates and enhance people living standard. Secondly, hosting regional and international sporting events is an opportunity to promote the host country's image to the world and attract tourists. For example, having organised the Olympics Games 2012, London itself and England in general, not only welcomed an influx of visitors and but also received international acclaims for its magnificent organisation.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that supporting amateur level of sports and arts in schools plays a pivotal role in cultivating young talents and promoting healthy habits. However, it is necessary to continue the sponsorship for professional sporting events and cultural programs due to their tremendous perks.