Some school leavers tend to go travelling or work for a period of time before going to university directly. what do you think are the advantages and disadvantages

A gap year tends to impart knowledge and skills to students who want to explore things of their interests. As per the stated notion, after passing higher secondary school education, some students opt to travel or work by taking a break in between school and university education. This essay will outline merits and demerits arising out of this before coming to a conclusion.

Discussing the downsides first, without having necessary qualifications to work in an organization prior to university year is the possible concern. Not to mention, highly reputed companies always tend to hire staff having proper knowledge as well as necessary documents including diploma and degrees. They need highly skilled staff with proper skills and technical knowledge about job concerned. For instance, organizations including banks,hospitals, schools and colleges always recruit staff with proper knowledge and experience. Thus, school leavers cannot get job easily since they have just passed out high school and lack requirements. Besides, travelling requires expenses and to fulfil their needs and demands, they will take recourse of their parents. As a result, this is not a good idea to travel since they are dependent on guardians in terms of financial perspective. Apart from this, it would be difficult for them to pursue education after a gap year because of lost motives and concentration in studying. They become money-minded as well which is detrimental.

However, a gap year has multifarious benefits too. Firstly, youngsters can gain extra knowledge and benefit by exploring other cultures and societies. Needless to say, they can gain interpersonal skills if they work before studying in university which in turn boosts the confidence thereby it is valuable for individualism. Also, youngsters become self- independent and have problem solving attitude by working early which is essential in all aspects of life. They can become perfect in decision-making by working collaboratively in a workplace. Moreover, a sense of maturity is developed earlier.

As such it can be concluded that, however a gap year may have negative repercussions, gaining skills and maturity at an early age can be far more beneficial.