Some teachers tend to reward students with high academic results. Others, however, support and reward students that improved their grades. Discuss both approaches. Give your opinion and provide examples.

High academic performance is often viewed by teachers as more important, so they tend to reward those students who achieve high grades. However, other teachers encourage and reward those pupils who bring an improvement in their academic results. In my opinion, I consider that improvement in grades of children should be encouraged and appreciated.

On one hand, few teachers consider student’s high scores as the basis of rewarding them and I agree. This method enables the teachers to make such high achievers as role models for other students to follow. In other words, a student who has received awards, such as certificates, trophies or medals for exhibiting an exemplary performance in academics, sets an example for the rest of the pupils of the class. Furthermore, this yearning to win similar titles motivates and stimulates the students to perform to the best of their abilities and challenge their boundaries.

On the other hand, many teachers believe in appreciating pupils who have performed better now than in the past as it promotes a more healthy way of appraisal. In other words, improvements in grades are better yardsticks to reward their performances.

For instance, praising children for achieving better marks in current exams will not only help them to feel a sense of accomplishment, but also reduces the stress to compete. This habit of constant hard work unequivocally transfers to the other aspects of life as well.

In conclusion, while many people may vary in opinions, I think that students stand a better chance to succeed in school life if tough targets like high academic scores are set as a basis for rewards.