Over the recent years, increase in the stress levels has become a major topic of concern around the world. This essay agrees that competition is the principal reason and will further discuss viable solutions to this bothersome issue.

We live in a competitive world. In contrast to the past, there's a race to be the best in every field, such as education and work.

In order to prove ourselves as the best, we are stressing ourselves by working really hard and for long hours . In order to get admission in the top university with limited seats, we have to compete against thousands of applications which was very unlikely in the past. Even when companies advert for job interview, for a single job, there are hundreds of applicants. For instance, in order to achieve big targets in short time, the employees in Multinational Companies (MNC) are forced to work long shifts. In a recent survey among the MNC employees, about 75% of them agreed to have gone through stress and anxiousness in order to fulfil their targets.

Although it is inevitable to be stressed in the current competitive situation, one has to develop our own strategies to be distracted from these influences. The main solution to this problem is to maintain a proper work-life balance. It is proved in scientific studies that exercising regularly releases endorphins in the body, which reduces stress. Nonetheless, adequate sleep and spending quality time with family and friends will bring happiness in life.

To conclude, although it is difficult to avoid being stressed in this modern world, one has to focus on both family and work equally to cope with the pressure at work. However, it is recommended that Government should initiate Government funded Meditation Centres and stress clinics.