Studies have shown that children are spending more time watching television and less time doing active or creative activities. Explain why this is the case. Suggest possible measures than can encourage children to participate in active or creative actions.

Recent research have revealed information stating that time spent on watching television by children is increasing versus the time spent on performing creative activities which is decreasing. This essay will discuss this problem as well as the possible solutions that may lead to more children involvement in creative activities.

To begin with, parents are the main factor for this problem and not the children. To elaborate on this, parents are primary responsible for how their children spend their time, if the parents are not paying enough attention to what their children are doing or watching in their free time, they are definitely contributing to this problem. For example, some parents do not have enough time to look for their children or take them out for some creative activities like joining a football team; they are either at work or busy at home. Television provides an Ideal solution to keep a child both quiet, while watching TV, and safe in the same time regardless how much time the children watch the television.

To tackle this problem and solve this critical issue permanently, there are a number of solutions that can be carried out. Firstly, watching television must be regulated to be on specific timing within the day for a maximum of 2 hours per day. Secondly, despite the fact that many parents are busy most of the day, they must allocate daily or weekly time to take the children out for group activities like playing basketball or football or even have fun in children play ground. Thirdly, if the parents start to navigate the children minds to focus on individual interactive games like puzzles or LEGO assembling, this would significantly increase the children intelligence and in the same time lessen the time for watching television.

To conclude, parents are the primary reason behind children spending an increasing time on watching television instead of participating in a single or group activities and to solve this problem parents need to take a serious long term actions to help raising an intelligent generation.