Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays more and more successful sportsmen and athletes gain significant amounts of wealth. Some think that this is unjust to representatives of other vital trades, what is, from my point of view, definitely untrue and this essay will illustrate it discussing both points of view and supporting them with relevant examples from medicine and skiing.

To begin with, there are a lot of professions that may seem to be worth achieving greater amount of recognition and reward, such as firefighters, policemen and surgeons. The main reason for such an opinion is that all of aforementioned occupations contribute greatly to humanity saving lives on literally daily basis. For instance, recent report of medicine faculty of MSU revealed, that more than 1000 life-saving operations were carried out last year only in single taken Prigov clinic in Moscow. Compared to any athlete’s, such a contribution is noticeably remarkable and important.

On the other hand, an effective period of any sports person career is rather short, and taking in account the discipline and dedication they put on altar, paychecks received are minor relief. Money earned during this span of time often should provide their living for the rest of their lives. And what is more, professionals are often exposed to built-up traumas due to extreme training they have to pass through. Take as example Bode Miller, a famous USA skier who won world championship in 2003 and was not able to show competitive results in 2006 due to age and problems with his knees. Thus after his retirement from skiing he, as many other sportsmen, have to rely on wealth taken during his best years.

To conclude, although it may falsely seem that life-saving lines of employment deserve a better payoff than people in sports, those rewards and prize money that athletes receive may be the only ones they get throughout their life. Therefore it is more than just contribution for their sacrifice of time and own health. It is predicted that by the year 2200 less successful sportspersons will receive a special pension that would allow reduce striatal gap between champions and underdogs.