Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socializing with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that television is undermining humans’ lives and damaging social experiences by consuming people’s time radically. I completely side with this notion for television is making viewers lazier every day.

Indeed, television is the main culprit of people’s laziness in this day and age. Since this is such a convenient method of relaxation, individuals, especially the young, are becoming more attached to the TV screen and thus, ignoring everything else. For adults, many workers do not pay attention to their job at the workplace and reduce their productiveness because they are used to the comfort of their couch combining with the entertainment of TV shows. Likewise, youngsters are becoming indifferent to their study at school for television is much more tempted.

What is more, television is also terribly destroying individuals’ social lives. Instead of hanging out with friends and colleagues to extend connections, people rush home and watch their favorite TV series alone after work or school. Even worse, individuals do not care to have a talk with other members in their own family. This is what is called ‘social isolation’ and has been a concerning problem of the society recently. In Vietnam, for example, people just do not socialize as much as before because they prefer staying at home watching television. In the long term, this may cause some mental issues such as autism or depression which then lead to other severe consequences like self-hurting by viewing too much violence and horror movies.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that television is creating massive problems for humans since it totally takes control of people’s free time thought TV is a great means of relaxation. Ideally, a balance between television and life would minimize these matters.