There are different customs in different countries related to how people eat, dress, and so on. Some think that people visiting a country should behave according to customs of the country they visit.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
These days, it seems that more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. This
raise certain question about the integration of newcomers into society. Although there are
valid arguments to the contrary, in this paper I will argue that it is the responsibility of
immigrants to adapt to accepted rules of behavior in their adopted country, both written and
unwritten. The reasons for this are twofold.
Firstly, it is vitally important that newcomers observe the laws of their adopted country for
the sake of social order. Imagine the chaos that would ensure if people refused to drive on the
same side of the road. It is, therefore, necessary for all-immigrants to ensure that they observe
the law in their new country regardless of any differences to laws in their home country. Two
further instances of practices which are permitted in some countries but prohibited in others
are the possession of firearms and gambling.
Secondly and more importantly, though, in order to maintain societal cohesion it is essential
that newcomers respect the social norms of their adopted country. Of course, having a
mixture of different cultures and traditions gives a country color and vibrancy; however, I
would contend that too much cultural diversity undermines a society by alienating people
from each other. It is my belief that similarities unite people, whereas differences have a
tendency to divide. A strong society is a homogenous society with shared values and goals.
By way of conclusion, I believe that this issue is likely to become even more important in the
future as border between countries become increasingly blurred. It, therefore, demands out
further consideration.