There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work?

Today girls are working in leadership positions all over the world and are outperforming their male colleges. Most of the girls are encouraged by their families to complete their degrees in science and technology courses at university but only few of them actually end up working in their respective fields after graduation. This is due to the patriarchal setup of the corporate jobs where the female employees do not receive enough support from the companies. Females could be encouraged to work post-graduation by introducing flexible rules that allows them to create a balance between their personal and professional life.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons to prove that the current patriarchal setup of most of the companies discourages women in continuing their jobs during their phase of pregnancy and child care. By the time the girls complete their graduation they end up getting married and post marriage they are not able to join any workplace due to various restrictions. Some females are not allowed by their in laws to work post marriage and there are others who have just given birth and they find it impossible to work for nine hours in the office when their breastfeeding baby is crying at home in the hands of a maid. Certain jobs require working in different shifts and girls feel unsafe to travel during late evening and night shifts while others require them to work overtime. Such limitations and inadequate support from the colleges forces them to quit their jobs and focus on raising their kids and family.

The government should encourage the female employees by giving them various benefits during the time of maternity such as paid maternity leaves for at least six months and child care leaves to all the female employees to ensure them that they can manage their personal life at the same time. The private companies should also encourage females to work post marriage by allowing flexible working hours and work from home facility which will not only encourage girls to work without worrying about their own safety but they will also be able to manage their kids and family.

In conclusion, I believe that the girls are forced to quit their hard earned career due to loopholes in out employment setup. The government should make strict rules for benefitting the female employees so that they receive enough encouragement to continue working even while managing their kids and family. Will the government official bring this change? Still remains a question.