There should be laws to control the amount and type of violence shown on television programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While it is true that there is violence on television, each individual has his or her own idea about how much is too much. Fortunately, we are all free to choose which TV programs we want to watch. Laws are not necessary to help us decide.

It is not difficult to find out which programs are on TV at any given time. Most newspapers publish a schedule of TV programs every day. Also, anyone who watches TV regularly knows which programs she likes and which she does not like. She knows what kinds of programs each different channels tend to have. Because of this, it is easy for everyone to avoid violet programs if they want to.

Modern technology has given us a tool for controlling the TV programs we see. Most TVs can be programmed to block certain channels. Thus, parents have a way to protect their children from seeing shows that are too violent. Adults can also use this technology to avoid seeing programs that they do not want to see.

The best thing about TV is that there is a variety of programs. There are news programs for serious people. There are movies and cartoons for people who want to be entertained. The variety of TV programs needs to be protected, even if that means allowing some of them to show violence.

We each have our own ideas about what is too violent and what is not. It would be difficult to make laws about violent on TV that would satisfy everybody. It is better to let each individual make his or her own choice about to watch.