There is too much noise in many public places in cities.

What are the causes of this problem?

What can be done to solve the problem?

Sound pollution is incredibly common in major cities. There are two prime causes of this and two viable solutions can be identified, which will be discussed now.

The primary reason to excessive noise is the blaring of horns from vehicles, be it private or public transport. In most countries there is no restriction on honking, which causes sound pollution on public roads. For instance, in India, it is a normal tendency of drivers to continue honking without any particular reason; thus, there is an increase of unpleasant sound, in addition to the sound of vehicle’s engine which is inevitable. Another reason to noise problem can be attributed to social gatherings in outdoor venues. People celebrating their private events, such as anniversary or birthday, may cause nuisance related to sound. In such ocassions, people not only blast music but also burst firecrackers, which create ear-piercing noises that seem to disturbe the surrounding environment.

Turning to the possible remedies, the key step should be taken by governments. They should enact legislation on honking, and those who break the law should be penalized in the form of fines or driving license suspension. This will dissuade potential law-breakers from pressing honks without any specific cause and only use it during emergencies. Consquently, this will help to reduce the noise on public roads. A further solution to tackle noise issues from public get togethers is to limit the volume of songs. In this case also, the government intervention is required to impose restriction on decibel allowed in outside places. In addition to this, there should be some control on the bursting of fireworks. People should try to refrain from using them since it causes many types of pollution, ranging from air to noise and land contamination.

In conclusion, sound pollution in large cities are engendered by honking and public celebrations. Plausible steps, namely laws on honking and volume limits on playing media outdoor, can be implimented to address the situation. Further, people should deter from burning firecrackers as much as possible.