These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? To what extent do you support this development?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated over people spending exorbitant amounts of money on tickets for sporting or cultural events. Some believe that spending on such events has a positive effect while some believe otherwise. Personally I believe that it is a negative development however, there are a few positives in attending these events.

On one hand, sporting events like the Olympics and Cricket World Cup are organised once every 3 or 4 years thus creating excitement among its fans. People who are sports fanatics are ready to pay an unreasonable amount of money to view the matches in person thus generating a huge income for the host countries and boosting their economy. Likewise, the same could be said for concerts and cultural events performed by well-known international artists. Additionally, attending these events acts as a great stress buster and helps people to detach from their problems. For example, a recent empirical research done by Hidustan Times states that 80% people are ready to buy expensive tickets for live concerts and events as they help to relieve stress and uplifts their mood.

On the other hand, the issue of people spending a lot of money on tickets for sports and other events like cultural or concerts has grown in importance over the last few years. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, most of the young generation are huge fan of national and international artists and athletes and they would go to any heights to attend their events. Due to this craze, they end up spending their money on purchasing expensive tickets for a onetime event. This money could have been used for more productive purpose like on studies or hobbies. Secondly, there are quite a few negative activities that are reported; like unauthorised distribution of drugs, alcohol and cigarettes to those who attend events like music concerts, sports and cultural events. For example, an extensive study done by Indian Express states that in the year 2018 on an average 20% of people who attend musical concerts and cultural events got addicted to drugs as they are freely available. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that spending money on expensive tickets is not the only problem but there are other negative aspects as well.

From the above arguments and examples given I firmly believe that, spending on any events is a mere waste of money as these events are broadcasted live on television and people can enjoy watching these events with friends and family. Also, such events attracts a lot of other problems as well which requires a quick attention.