Today, the high sales of consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, the elevated sales of consumer commodities is more to do with the mastery of marketing rather than the actual requirement of the general public who buy these products. In my opinion, the statement is quiet correct.

Advertising is actually have proven to be a behavioural influencer, as it acts as a motivational tool which influence consumer behaviour to use or dispose off a particular product more. For example, if we talk about Pakistan, which has a population of over 200 million now had an increase of 37 percent in its commodity expenditure during the period from 2011 to 2016. Another extraordinary example which is worth mentioning is of real estate, which is the most boosting business these days and the reason behind that is good attractive advertising.

Secondly, if we look at the enormous growth of media in the current era which used to have only 1 or 2 state owned TV channels previously now has almost 90 channels in Pakistan. Not only TV but also other broadcasting mediums where these advertisements are placed or having an air time are playing vital role in this behavioural change of consumers. For instance, PEPSI has a larger market share as compared to that of COKE's. This is mainly because PEPSI has its marketing strategy mainly focused on making advertisements for its target markets which usually youth through Music and Cricket in Pakistan.

To sum up, I think that advertisements are playing a major role in our consumer behaviours rather than our actual needs or requirements.