Today many countries import food from different parts of the world Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

The trading market in the food industry between countries has developed overwhelmingly over the years. It is claimed that many nations nowadays have cooperated with each other to sell and consume large quantities of food internationally. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before giving a reasoned opinion.

On the one hand, importing food from foreign countries can hold shortcomings pertaining to food safety. Since the products such as vegetables, fruits, and many livestock commodities are bred and nourished outside of one’s territory, the government of importing nations can not interfere in the growing process. There are major risks concerning toxic additives and preservatives in food that make it look more appealing and fresher to lure consumers into purchasing. Also, some products can be genetically modified and can adversely affect the human’s physical health, this can lead to unwanted responses namely allergic, organ damage, or gene transfer. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, there was a bloom in food-borne illnesses between 2009 and 2010 and over 50% of the statistics are imported products.

On the other hand, however, the food import industry also proved to be beneficial to some extent. The trading market helps boost national growth enormously since many countries are able to sell their native products overseas as well as import a variety of delicacies from others. With the international food market, consumers are offered a wide range of goods that are not produced in their home country, which potentially leads to an increase in consumption due to its novelty. Moreover, by exporting specialized regional products and simultaneously importing food that cannot be homegrown, the authority can maximize its profits and therefore contribute to the national progress as a whole.

By way of conclusion, even though there are some drawbacks regarding food safety, imported products are believed to encourage economic growth. I believe that once the farming procedures are strictly approved and controlled by the government, high-quality products can be bought worldwide without any health concerns.