Universities should accept an equal number of men and women in every subject. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that the ratio of male and females ought to be similar in each subject which will be taught in the higher institutes. However, I completely disagree with this view since education will never be based on gender.

To begin with, it should always be a student's choice that in which subject one would like to enroll. By providing an equal number of seats to both the gender means less opportunity is given to the desirable candidates, and forcefully accepting the admissions of those who are not even interested. To illustrate, it is generally seen that mainly in nursing institutes women are more likely to get enrolled than men; therefore, the compulsion of the same number of both the gender enrollment is not justified.

Furthermore, if classes are filled on the basis of equal acceptance of male and female, then there will be a possibility that most of these classrooms are never complete. So this will not only become problematic for pupils but also cause inconvenience to teachers as there will be no adequate structure of teaching. For example, teachers might wait for more enrollment of that gender which is less and vice versa; and as a result study of those students is hindered that are already a part of a specific course.

In conclusion, education plays an essential role in everyone's life and in my opinion universities must not set admission criteria on a gender basis since this will take away the opportunity from the more desirable students.