It is true that students in university are now placing much attention on the subjects
related to their own future career. However, some critics argue that universities
should resort to some measures to have their students study more diverse subjects.
In my view, I accept that studying more subjects makes students become more
mature to some extent, yet I believe that it is legitimate for them to merely focus on
their major subjects.
On the one hand, learning/mastering more subjects bring people more knowledge
and a well-rounded perspective of life. It is undeniable that many subjects in the
tertiary curriculum are very important in practical terms. For example, History
teaches young generations about how their ancestors fought against outside
intruders and made sacrifices to protect their motherland and the sovereignty of
their nations. Therefore, this subject fosters a sense of patriotism for the students.
However, the intense syllabus of universities often makes students feel
overwhelmed with a great amount of information to cram in.
On the other hand, in the digital era, people need to be skillful in the major they
choose to pursue. It appears indisputable that studying many subjects would
distract students from their specialty. Moreover, along with the information
explosion, people can easily mitigate their lack of knowledge after graduating
from universities. Information is now widely available on the Internet with high
accuracy. Besides, encouraging students to focus on some subjects can effectively
build up a strong workforce which has the ability to foster general prosperity of a
nation.
In conclusion, although some people argue that students should study more
subjects, I would side with those who believe it is indispensable for tertiary
students to excel in one field of expertise.