The use of cell phones (mobiles phones) has grown rapidly in the past few years. People use them for both business and personal reasons.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of cell phones (mobile phones)? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Cellphones were introduced in early 2000’s and faced rapid growth in just few years. As per a recent survey, 73% of world population use cell phones. Cellphones are used for business as well as personal reasons. Cellphones gained sudden popularity due to number of advantages. I shall discuss few of them below.

First of all, cellphones have removed barriers in people’s lives by providing a mode of communication on the go. Wherever we are, whenever we need, just dial a number and you are in communication within seconds. This has provided ease not just on personal level but on business level as well. Mobile data has provided access to emails on touch of a button. It is now easier than ever to stay in touch with vendors and customers.

Secondly with availability of clock, alarm, notes, reminders and maps. It has facilitated lives to keep track of valuable time. Whether you want to wake up in the morning or be at someplace for meeting, cellphone is there to help you. Once can use map to plan his/her journey and optimize travelling time by analyzing traffic trends.

With integration of social media & online games, cellphones keeps people entertained as well. Using social media keep people updated of latest news and events from around the globe.

With upside of everything, there are downsides too. Cellphones too have disadvantages Kids use cellphones to play games. They get too much involved in them that they start neglecting on their studies. My litter brother failed his exams as he neglected his studies due to excess use of cellphone.

A lot of accidents are happening these days due to wrong use cellphones. People get too occupied on their devices that they forget they are on road. Once they are occupies & loose their concentration, mishap happens. Wrong use of cellphones has costed a lot precious lives.

People nowadays, are being diagnosed with alot of posture related problems due to wrong posture maintained in using cellphones. Another problem which has surfaced is typer’s thumb. This is also caused by constant use of cellphones. Doctor’s say that major cause of Repititive strain injuries ‘RSI’ are unsafe use of mobilephones.

With these costs, there are alot of benefits of cellphones and benefits outweigh these costs.