The use of cell phones(mobile phones) has grown rapidly in the past few years. People use them for both business and personal reasons. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of cell phones?

The use of smartphones has increased surprisingly to a higher level than in earlier years, and people are using them at their workplace and homes for various purposes. Although this technology has revolutionized the way of communication between people, it also brings some drawbacks.

On the positive side, there are several benefits of using smartphones. The first and foremost is that communication between people becomes easy and quick. Nowadays, we can connect with a person sitting in the other corner of the planet by dialling a set of few digits. Secondly, incorporation of internet facility in these phones has made people to get access to various websites, and to do video-calling. For instance, I usually prefer to read e-books and e-newspapers on my mobile phone than to read a printed version. I could also watch movies and videos streaming on it.

On the negative side, the major disadvantage is that people are suffering from addiction to this technology. In other words, people spend most of their time on these mobile phones and have little time available for other activities and family members. Consequently, they are being isolated from the outer world and living in a virtual world. Another drawback is the free access to pornographic websites and deadly games which might prove harmful for the children. Recently 53 children ended their life by playing "Pub G "game which is supposed to encourage players to do suicidal activities. Thus, this kind of technology has detrimental effects on society if not controlled timely.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that smartphones have facilitated overseas communication around the globe with video-calling, but it could have deadly effects on society if no restrictions being imposed on its safer usage.