The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society do you think that advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

With the advent of technology, the majority of people are virtually connected through social media as compared to earlier times, when people usually preferred to have a face to face interaction. Although, it leads to a sedentary lifestyle, it is economical and saves a lot of time. Therefore, I believe that the advantage outweigh the disadvantage, which is discussed further in this essay.

To begin with, the use of social media has changed the lives of many people in a positive way by considering the current scenario, where people are avoiding meeting each other during pandemic crisis. So, in order to stay connected with their colleagues, family, friends and relatives, everyone is dependent on these networking websites. Additionally, meeting in person is time-consuming and expensive. For instance, in order to connect with a client, a sales person has to plan his calendar and incur exorbitant expenses which are inevitable. However, doing a meeting online or virtually on Skype could save a lot of money and time for both of them.

On the contrary, the primary drawback is that people who are excessively on social media are facing health issues because of their sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, by not meeting their acquaintances, they are losing their social life as well as facing trouble in their physical and mental development. For instance, these days a plethora of people working from home, are more likely to face stress, anxiety and depression. So, in order to restrain this, people should start going out and have face to face interaction more often.

In the end, people are more comfortable by not going out and using social media for communicating with each other, since it is low cost and conserve travel time. Thus, we can clearly say that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage, but one should not forget its well-being.