Violence in the media promotes violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

There is a belief that media encourages members of society to act abnormally by broadcasting the acts of atrocity. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers claim that the act of cruelty on TV triggers atrocity in reality. The first argument is that it encourages some people to commit the same crime for popularity. Criminals often receive publicity, so some of the news followers want to gain fame by perpetrating a similar crime. Another reason is that violence in mass media may mislead immature minds. Young people may express themselves violently in response to disagreement with other children, when this kind of publication encourages them by immoral pictures. Furthermore, it frequently motives more people carry weapons as protection means. For example, in Kazakhstan, people tend to hold either guns or knives as self-defence, which also increase the possibility of new crimes.

However, some media advocates believe that reported acts of cruelty has positive effects on society for the following reasons. First of all, it makes people aware of criminals. For example, newspapers often show pictures of former sex-offenders with the description their offense in order to notify people of their atrocious behavior as well as never leave their children alone. Secondly, media warns people of the consequences of breaking a law. People are often unaware of possible implications if they decide to assault others, but TV programs about outlaws can deter them from their illegal intention. Finally, broadcasting both violence and subsequent apprehension usually persuades citizens that police officers always protects them from violators. People often blame the police force for their inaction; however, documentaries regarding various crimes with the ultimate arrest may change their prejudice about policemen.

In conclusion, even though sociologists argue that cruelty highlighted on mass media causes brutal conduct in public, I am not only opposed to them, but also I think that such media highlights discourages anti-social actions in community.