Some people believe that sports are a key element in our society, while others argue that it’s just a recreational activity to be done in one’s free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a controversial issue about the importance of sports. Some social workers argue that it is imperative aspect of public life, while some gym attendees consider it as an active recreation. This essay will discuss both points of view and agrees with the idea of sports as a leisure time activity.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers claim that sports is an essential part of community. The first reason is that sports allow people communicate with others. People, who feel lonely, can easily make friends with other people at the gym, so it grants them the opportunity to avoid separation from society. Another reason is that sports help people keep fit. Humans, who suffer from excessive weight, may simply lose it by doing the workout either at the recreational centers or outdoors. Furthermore, sports promote healthy lifestyle. Smokers, for example, tend to stop their unhealthy habit as soon as they go jogging regularly, since these two habits are inconsistent.

However, some gym visitors state that sports is basically a pastime activity. Firstly, people do sports to relax from hustle. Employed people, for instance, normally do sports, such as jogging or brisk walking, to relieve the stress, which they have accumulated during the working day, but consider it as a way to spend leisure time. Secondly, people often abandon exercising. Citizens also are likely to quit doing the exercise, if they either get bored with it or have more important things to do. Moreover, sports normally provides no money. Except professional athletes, ordinary people basically do sports for entertainment, because it provides no income.

In conclusion, even though some social workers believe that sports is a significant aspect of life, I think that people should consider it as a healthy activity, they do at spare time.