Some people believe that sports are a key element in our society, while others argue that it’s just a recreational activity to be done in one’s free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays everyone wants to stay fit and healthy, therefore the role of sports increases day by day. Some people take part in sports causally just for entertainment where are some people take parts in sports very actively. In this essay lets us discuss the reasons for both the approaches one by one. In my opinion the reasons may vary from person to person but there is no doubt that sports help to keeps an individual healthy, so taking part in sports have become the need of hour.

Firstly, let us discuss why people consider sports as a source of entertainment. The main argument for this kind of approach is that people often enjoy more playing causally with their friends than taking part in competitions. Secondly, with the increased pace of life, the people are having limited amount of free time, so they cannot take part in games regularly or take play daily. For example the people working in MNCs are having limited time for sports due to day to day work pressures, so many MNCs add a sports centre in there office to encourage people to play sports just for a change. The basic aim of these sports centre is not to build fitness levels but just to give employees a source of recreation.

However, on the other side the people who take part in sports actively have some different view point. The people taking part in sports actively, want to improve there fitness level. Government spends lots of budgets on health schemes to create the healthy society. If individuals take participation in sports seriously then fitness level of people will improve and result in saving of government funds. Taking parts in sports also enhance the feeling of co-operation and social bonding between people. For instance, the schools who encourage students to take parts in sports provide better fitness and teachings of social values to its students.

In conclusion, we can say that sports plays a vital role in human development both mentally and physically. With the change in life style and eating habits it is impossible to stay a healthy life without taking part in sports. According to me the reasons may differ from person to person but benefits of sports in building a healthy society can never be ignored.